Church History

History of Our Church

Ruskin United Methodist Church, founded in 1924, has a rich history.

  • Original Church built in 1926
  • First Parsonage built in 1946
  • Current Church built in 1951
  • Wings added in 1958
  • Eason Building added in 1964
  • Sunday School building added in 1966
  • Current Parsonage built in 1978
  • Youth Wing added in 1985
  • Church remodeled from 1991 to 1995
  • Property that now holds our Youth House and Thrift Store purchased in 2006

 History of the UMC

On April 23, 1968, The United Methodist Church was created when Bishop Reuben H. Mueller, representing The Evangelical United Brethren Church, and Bishop Lloyd C. Wicke of The Methodist Church joined hands at the constituting General Conference in Dallas, Texas. With the words, "Lord of the Church, we are united in Thee, in Thy Church and now in The United Methodist Church," the new denomination was given birth by two churches that had distinguished histories and influential ministries in various parts of the world.

 

Theological traditions steeped in the Protestant Reformation and Wesleyanism, similar ecclesiastical structures, and relationships that dated back almost two hundred years facilitated the union. In the Evangelical United Brethren heritage, for example, Philip William Otterbein, the principal founder of the United Brethren in Christ, assisted in the ordination of Francis Asbury to the superintendency of American Methodist work. Jacob Albright, through whose religious experience and leadership the Evangelical Association was begun, was nurtured in a Methodist class meeting following his conversion.

 

 

 

 

 

© 2017 Ruskin UMC
Connected Sound - Websites for the Barbershop Community